LIBRARY ADVISORY COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES Weinberg Memorial Library Monday, December 7, 2023

.

The meeting came to order at 11:33 a.m., by Dr. Marian Farrell.

Present: Dean George Aulisio, Dr. Anthony Betancourt, Dr. Deborah Budash, Ms. Amanda Campbell, Prof. Marleen Cloutier, Dr. Tracey Collins, Prof. Kate Cummings, Dr. Marian Farrell, Prof. Colleen Farry, Dr. Michael Fennie, Dr. Christopher Fremaux, Dr. Chris Gillett, Dr. Jennifer Kaschak, Associate Dean Jean Lenville, Dr. William Miller, Prof. Ian O'Hara, Dr. Kimberly Pavlick, Prof. Sheli Pratt McHugh, Prof. Donna Witek, Prof. Elin Woods, and Dr. John Zych.

Unable to Attend: Dr. Lori Bruch, Dr. Roxana Curiel, Ms. Sharon Finnerty, Dr. Terri Freeman Smith, Dr. JoyAnna Hopper, Dr. Jakub Jasinski, Prof. Michael Knies, Dr. Michael Landrum, Dr. Nathan Lefler, Dr. Yibai Li, Dr. Wendy Mannetti, Prof. Bonnie Markowski, Dr. Robert McCloskey, Prof. Linda Mlodzienski, Prof. Sylvia Orner, Dr. Masood Otarod, Dr. Christos Pargianas, Atty. Jason Shrive, Dr. Jong

3. Xerox Machine (Dean Aulisio / Assoc. Dean Lenville)

The Library has a Xerox machine in the print room of the Reilly Room which is not being utilized. When students use it, it is charged to their account as opposed to using printers which is charging Library allocated funds. The Library also assumes paper costs.

We are proposing removing the remaining copier before the spring semester starts."

We do have scanner/printer in a few locations throughout the bldg. and there's no cost involved if students scan. They are charged if they use the copier.

We will have signage notifying students of the change. We can also advertise on social media.

4. Library Advisory Committee Bylaws – (Bylaws Subcommittee)
The subcommittee met to begin drafting bylaws. Committee members are Dean George Aulisio,
Dr. Marian Farrell, Dr. Deborah Budash, and Dr. Jennifer Kaschak. The purpose of creating by
laws is to address issues on membership and steps for vacancies. There was discussion on
quorum size, membership replacement, and electronic voting. The anticipated approval of the
bylaws is for the fall semester, 2024.

LIBRARY FACULTY REPORTS

1. Information Literacy Updates (Prof. Witek)

The Library Research Prize deadline is 'December 11th, '2023. Visit the 'https://www.scranton.edu/academics/wml/infolit/research prize/index.shtml for more information. The call for judges will go out in the spring."

A task force to meet to develop some recommendations to update this grant. Dr. Miller, Dr. Bruch, Prof. O'Hara, Prof. Cummings, and Prof. Witek comprise the Committee. If there is anyone who still wants to volunteer, please reach out to Prof. Donna Witek.

2. Library Spaces Demo (Prof. O'Hara)

The current Library spaces outline is located

https://www.scranton.edu/academics/wml/special projects/library spaces/index.html The DEIA Committee audited all of the Library spaces, specifically study spaces. Ms. Jen Galas designed the web page and registration links.

3. DEIA Audit (Prof. O'Hara)

Dr. Mark Puente, a DEIA consultant will be on campus in the spring and will prepare a report.

4. Scranton Stories Exhibit (Prof. Farry)

Dr. Farry presented a slide show of the project. Part of Scranton Stories is a portrait exhibit, that will move from the Hope Horn Gallery to the Heritage Room for the spring semester. The portraits have summaries with QR codes for full story. The current exhibit is curated slightly different from what was on display in the gallery.

5.